Nightbooks by J. A. White

"A superb mashup of Hansel & Gretel and 1,001 Arabian Nights. If you like Neil Gaiman, Adam Gidwitzer, or Lemony Snicket, check out this story about a boy lured into a witch's house and his struggle to escape. Oh, it's got lots of scary (but not too scary) stories, too." -- Sarah

This book is great for Middle Schoolers.

Nightbooks

Alex’s original hair-raising tales are the only thing keeping the witch Natacha happy, but soon he’ll run out of pages to read from and be trapped forever. He’s loved scary stories his whole life, and he knows most don’t have a happily ever after. Now that Alex is trapped in a true terrifying tale, he’s desperate for a different ending—and a way out of this twisted place.

This modern spin on the Scheherazade story is perfect for fans of Coralineand A Tale Dark and Grimm. With interwoven tips on writing with suspense, adding in plot twists, hooks, interior logic, and dealing with writer’s block, this is the ideal book for budding writers and all readers of delightfully just-dark-enough tales.

let's stay together